The Book of Life - Deborah Harkness

It has been a long wait for fans of the All Souls Trilogy but the story of Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont reaches its conclusion in The Book of Life – and I’m happy to report that this final instalment does not disappoint. Having returned from their time-walk to Elizabethan London, Diana and Matthew are reunited with their extended family but also find themselves back within reach of their enemies on the Congregation. Diana may understand more about her powers but she is still struggling to control them as well…

Deadly Shadows by Shirley Wells

On beginning book six in the Dylan Scott Mystery series, I knew Deadly Shadows by Shirley Wells would return us to the dreary town of Dawson’s Clough, but I hadn’t expected an undercover operation. Having been dismissed from the police force before becoming a private investigator, Dylan Scott had been working undercover as David ‘Davey’ Young, and was associated with the ruthless Joe Child. Child is known to the police and to Dylan as a dodgy character, who always seems to have an alibi when his enemies turn up dead….

God's War by Kameron Hurley cover

Beginning the Bel Dame Apocrypha series is God’s War by Kameron Hurley, a new dystopian fantasy series set amidst a never-ending war. The book begins with heroine, Nyx, having just sold her womb on the black market to earn enough money to get to her assassination target. She is a bel dame, an assassin who kills those who are contaminated and a risk to entire villages and towns. To make sure her targets are dead and the bodies no longer contagious, Nyx has to cut off the heads of her…

Rock Addiction - Nalini Singh

I’ve loved everything I’ve read by Nalini Singh. She has a way with words. Her books are lush, romantic, sexy. Rock Addiction is the first book in her new Schoolboy Choir series and her first foray into new adult contemporary romance. When I heard Singh was releasing this book, and that it was on NetGalley, I downloaded straight away. Rock Addiction is an amazing read. The characters are layered, the romance is deep and meaningful, the sex is hot and passionate, and the prose is just as lush as any book I’ve read by Singh….

Bellissima by Anya Richards

Hello and welcome to a new monthly feature here on BCC. Each month I will be sharing a selection of releases I’m most looking forward to, as well as giving you all an insight into what is on my TBR pile for that month. I’d love to hear if you’re anticipating the same titles as I am! COVETED SEPTEMBER RELEASES The most exciting books I’m hoping to get my hands on this month are: 1. Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella First on the list for this months releases…

image

While this is the second book in Ashley’s Fantasyland series, by the time I have got around to writing this review I have actually nearly finished reading them all, and I can honestly say the The Golden Dynasty is the best in the series. The best way I can describe it, and I’m going to go on a brief sojourn here, but bear with me, it’s relevant! In the first season of Game of Thrones (apologies I haven’t read the books), my favourite scenes were those between Daenerys and Kahl…

Age of Iron

HISTORY IS WRITTEN BY THE VICTORS BUT WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE VICTORS LOSE? AGE of IRON vy Angus Watson Published 2 September 2014 Paperback Original, £8.99 The epic historical fantasy debut by British author Angus Watson, Age of Iron, fills the gaps in history of Roman occupation in Britain. Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO’s Game of Thrones. Legends aren’t born. They’re forged. Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary…

BCC UPDATES DIRECT TO YOUR INBOX

BOOK OF THE MONTH

BOOK OF THE MONTH

My review will be up soon, but until then check it out on GOODREADS

CURRENT GIVEAWAY

CURRENT GIVEAWAY

Huge Mystery Box of Books up for Grabs! :D

ARCHIVES

CURRENTLY READING

Currently Reading

BLOGLOVIN’

Follow on Bloglovin

INSTAGRAM

Instagram

FACEBOOK

Love Beauty?

Love Beauty?

Then head on over to my sister site Obsessive Blonde.

COPYRIGHT

All content and illustrations Ⓒ Book Chick City unless otherwise stated. This means you shouldn't copy or distribute without our permission!

SEARCH